Leftover Wednesday: Broccoli Cole Slaw with Chicken

Early this summer, I found a recipe for broccoli cole slaw that I couldn’t resist. Little did I know that both my kids would feel the same way. They actually fight over this slaw. Many thanks, Paula Deen.

To make it a little more heart healthy, I cut back drastically on the butter and oil, without sacrificing any of the taste. And I added some chopped apples to give it a hint of sweetness. I’ve tried other fruit in it such as blueberries and mandarin oranges, but the apples have been my favorite. Loaded with slivered almonds and sunflower seeds, this is one hearty salad. And since this recipe uses the stalk of broccoli, it’s quite possible that broccoli haters may not even know they’re eating broccoli. I love that it all comes shredded and bagged. It doesn’t get much easier than that.

I made a huge batch last night with dinner, so there was enough for lunch for S. I topped it with some grilled chicken for some added protein. When I unpacked her lunchbox this afternoon all the slaw was gone, but most of the chicken was still there.

Paula Deen’s Broccoli Cole Slaw 

Ingredients

  • 2 bags (3-ounce) Ramen Noodle Soup in Oriental (My favorite is Asian Vegetable from Koyo)
  • 3/4 stick butter (I use 2 TB butter)
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 2 bags (12-ounce) bags broccoli cole slaw (in the bagged salad section of the grocery store)
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • Chopped green onions, for garnish

Dressing

  • 3/4 cup canola oil (I use a generous 1/4 cup of peanut oil and 2 tsp sesame oil)
  • 1/4 cup brown or white sugar
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 ramen noodle seasoning packet

Put the ramen noodles in a bag and crush them with a rolling pin while melting butter in a large skillet over low/medium heat. Add the crushed noodles and slivered almonds to the skillet and saute, stirring occasionally (keep temperature at low/medium heat). Meanwhile, whisk together all the dressing ingredients in a small bowl. Place the shredded broccoli into bowl and toss with the noodles, almonds, and sunflower seeds. Pour dressing over salad and toss to coat. Garnish with chopped green onions.

2 Comments to “Leftover Wednesday: Broccoli Cole Slaw with Chicken”

  1. This is a GREAT broccoli salad – (add a few red grapes) No one will ever guess it’s broccoli!!!

  2. This was a hit with everyone in the fam (which is a rare feat).

Leave a Reply

