Summer Rolls

My inspiration for today’s lunch came from last night’s dinner: grilled five-spice chicken, courtesy of Epicurious.com. S loves the chicken, as does her brother, but I wanted to repurpose it for lunch today. And I wanted to hold on to summer, since the sun was shining so warmly. So, I decided to make some summer rolls, the rice paper rolls that are frequently served at Vietnamese and Thai restaurants. It’s the spring roll’s healthy little sister.

I usually have all the ingredients I need in my pantry, so all I had to do was grate a carrot, julienne a cucumber, and soak some bean thread noodles (aka cellophane noodles) in boiling water. Before I started to construct the roll, I soaked an 8-inch round spring roll wrapper (made out of rice flour) in warm water until it was pliable. Then I moved it to some paper towels, where I blotted it. I arranged some spring mix on the bottom half of the soaked rice paper roll, leaving a 1-inch border. I topped it with the cellophane noodles, which had been drained in a sieve, some grated carrots, a couple mint leaves, shredded chicken from the night before, and a couple Thai basil leaves. You roll it the same way you would roll a burrito, but you want to make sure it’s tight around the filling. Wrap it with a damp paper towel to keep the rice paper soft. To finish, I made a peanut sauce for dipping.

Leave a Reply

