TJ’s Chicken Taquitos

Last week when I was at Trader Joe’s, the store had its chicken taquitos on demo. And since I had C and S in tow, the kids insisted that we try them. At first I cringed, but after looking at the ingredients I realized they’re pretty benign. Both kids loved them, so I gave in to S’s pleading and dropped them in my cart.

This morning I was glad to have them in the freezer, because I was out of the usual staples and didn’t have any leftovers. So, I dropped two in the toaster oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes. In the meantime, I smashed up half an avocado and mixed in a little salt and lime juice. The lime gives the simple guacamole some nice acidity, and prevents it from turning brown. Then, I cut up an apple and washed some green and red grapes. Lunch? Check.

Leave a Reply

