Salmon Salad with Crackers

Think tuna salad—but with salmon instead. You get more omega-3 fatty acids than you would with tuna, and with a fraction of the mercury. Add to that a smashed-up avocado and a squeeze of lemon and you have one big serving of brain food.

I get my ready-to-eat pouched wild salmon from SeaBear.com. It’s less fishy than canned salmon and doesn’t have the BPA you get with canned foods. This morning, I packed the salmon salad with some some nut-and-rice crackers and cut-up cucumbers. That gives S two kinds of scoopers to play with. I’ve been really impressed with the gluten-free Hazelnut Nut-Thins crackers from Blue Diamond. They have just the right amount of salt and a touch of nuttiness. And I’m a sucker for Trader Joe’s organic Persian cucumbers. They’re petite and sweet, and don’t have the bitterness of regular cucumbers because they’re seedless.

Of course, you could also put it on bread and make it a salmon salad sandwich.

4 Comments to “Salmon Salad with Crackers”

  1. Oh Yum! I am trying this tomorrow. I wish my Mom made these kind of lunches when I was a kid. We got processed Pickle loaf sandwiches with cheese doritos.

  2. This was a surprising hit with my daughter. She initially was wary of salmon over tuna. I told her it was tuna. She ate it all. I then told her it was salmon and she asked to have it packed in her lunch. Salmon FTW!

    • Hooray! That’s great, Corrie. I’m so glad it was a hit. You have a new lunch item and you get lots of points for loading her up with a bunch of omega-3’s. It’s the little things, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

