Black Bean Quesadillas

Yes, there’s cooking involved. But it’s all done in under 10 minutes. Here are the easy-peasy steps:

Black bean quesadillas

1.  Put a tortilla in a pan on medium heat. (Note: Use whole wheat so you don’t have Mommy guilt like me.)

2.  Flip once to warm on both sides. (This makes the cheese melt faster.)

3. Sprinkle some grated Monterey Jack cheese on half the tortilla.

4. Put a couple of tablespoons of rinsed, canned black beans on top of the cheese.

5. Fold quesadilla in half and cook until golden on both sides, about 2 to 4 minutes.

6. Cut into triangles.

All done! I smashed up half an avocado and added a twist of lime and a dash of salt to make a small side of guacamole. You could also add some salsa to the inside of the quesadilla. Unfortunately, we were all out.

To round out the lunch, I threw in a couple clementines and a plum.

.

 

3 Comments to “Black Bean Quesadillas”

  1. I had to look up clementine in wikipedia. That’s a new one on me.

  2. I am loving your blog and have already come away with some great new things to try! We eat many of these things at home, but I have to admit… only 2 months into packing daily lunches, and they’ve gotten pretty boring! Do you have any special products that are good at keeping stuff hot? I just got a thermos container for soup, but otherwise, everything else has been cold.

    Thanks for doing this…it is so much fun to read!

    • Thanks, Kendra! I need to start a section on the lunch gear we use. I have a Thermos-brand thermos that we use for soups, stews, leftover stir-fries. It’s about 3 1/2″ in diameter and approximately 4″ tall. To keep things warm, I usually fill the Thermos with boiling water while I prepare her lunch. Then, I make the lunch REALLY hot, empty out the hot water and dump in the food. I quickly screw the lid on to keep the heat in. But it’s still hit-or-miss. Sometimes, it’s still warm by the time she eats it; other times, it’s not. For things like quesadillas and pizzas, I wrap it in foil and put it in one of our stainless steel Lunchbots. While I’m not a fan of lukewarm or cool food, I find that it doesn’t faze S.

Leave a Reply

