Oatmeal Snack Bars

S has been complaining that the grain-free bars I make are too sweet. Really? This is coming from the child who would love nothing more than to eat a bowl of icing. But, okay, I like bars, so I’m game for finding a new recipe. I prefer to stay away from wheat, when we can, so these super-easy oat bars from KathEats.com sounded interesting. There’s no sugar or flour, just oats, dried fruit and a bunch of nuts and seeds. If you’re sensitive to gluten, use gluten-free oats. (I’m a fan of the ones from Bob’s Red Mill.)

The verdict? It’s a keeper. But I will be playing with it some, trying different nuts, fruits and coconut. S thought they weren’t sweet enough (The other bar is too sweet and this one not sweet enough. Ack!), but C liked them. And I had two with my cup of coffee this morning. For the next go-around, I’ll add 1/4 cup of honey or brown sugar.

Note: These have the texture of a dense muffin, rather than a crunchy cookie. Recipe follows the photo.

Baked Oatmeal Snack Bars (from KathEats.com)

Ingredients

1 1/2 c. rolled oats

1/2 c. chopped nuts (any variety is fine – walnuts, almonds, etc.)

1/2 c. dried fruit (again, any you like is fine – raisins, cranberries, apricots, dates, figs)

1/4 c. seeds (sunflower, pumpkin, flax or sesame)

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. kosher salt (I think you could eliminate this or cut it to 1/2 tsp., esp. if you don’t add a sweetener)

1 1/4 c. skim milk

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix dry ingredients.

Mix wet ingredients.

Pour wet into dry. Stir to combine.

Pour into a 9X9 baking dish either coated in cooking spray or lined with parchment.

Bake for 40 minutes.

Cut into squares.

3 Comments to “Oatmeal Snack Bars”

  1. You are killing me with all these yummy recipes. I did catch that you had your coffee:-)

  2. Now I have to whip up big bowl of oats and vanilla and cinnamon and, um, ghirardelli choc chips .. didn’t look like S got any of those 😉

Leave a Reply

