Lunch in Portugal – Part 1

I’m in Portugal this week, so I thought it’d be a good opportunity to find out what the Portugese eat for lunch. Like the rest of Europe, the bakery/cafe plays a big part in day-to-day life. There’s at least one on every street corner. In fact, it appears to be the meeting place for lunch. From sweet egg custard tarts to savory croissants and mini quiches, the choices are endless. The locals aren’t afraid to eat a quiche for lunch, followed by an almond tart for dessert. And if you’re an adult, it’s all washed down with an espresso.

We’ve tried quiches filled with spinach and tomato, ham and cheese, and spinach and cheese. All have been obscenely delicious. I’m inspired to make my own when I get home. But I’ll probably make a lighter version with phyllo dough instead of the traditional pie crust. Admittedly, the crust here has been perfectly flaky and buttery.

20111023-124524.jpg

3 Comments to “Lunch in Portugal – Part 1”

  1. I LOVE quiche, although I rarely eat it anymore since being GF and semi-Paleo. I do enjoy crust-less quiche, and this reminds me that I haven’t made one in a while. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

