Breakfast: Egg cupcakes!

Okay, okay, they’re more like little egg frittatas. But they were baked in silicone cupcake liners. Doesn’t that count for something?

The idea for these came about when, K, a friend up the street mentioned that she hadn’t made quiche in a while because her family had gone gluten-free. That inspired me to make a crustless quiche, but I was also wondering how I could turn it into a little handheld breakfast that the kids could eat in the car on the way to school. Sure beats an Eggo waffle, right?

Enter: silicone muffin/cupcake liners. They’re the perfect size for individual servings, and they make clean-up a cinch. Since we limit dairy at my house, I decided to drop the heavy cream you usually find in quiches. That turned my quiche into more of a frittata.

First, I beat 6 eggs with 1 cup of egg whites. (I knew I wanted about one egg to one muffin.) Then, I chopped up five slices of bacon and crisped them in a skillet. I drained the bacon over some paper towels, and then drained all the drippings from the pan, except for 1 tablespoon. Then, I sautéed 3 large handfuls of baby spinach in the bacon fat. After all, bacon makes everything taste better.

I put the liners on a baking sheet and dropped a little mound of spinach in each liner, followed by a sprinkling of crunchy bacon and monterey jack cheese. Then I ladled the beaten eggs over the top. I baked the frittatas at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. Next time, I might consider making a well in the spinach and filling it with the eggs.

The results? C happily ate his “cupcake” and S, well, not so much. I froze the rest in a large Ziploc, so I can pop one in the microwave on a hectic morning.

3 Comments to “Breakfast: Egg cupcakes!”

  1. These look really comfortingly yummy. Are the liners “full size”? They appear to be minis but that could just be the camera’s perspective and there’s nothing in the scene to use as comparison. Why anyone would go through all the trouble to only make mini cupcakes is beyond me. Now for the photo critique. . . . if you had put a piece of parchment paper over the baking pan- viola- perfect. Also, on the “done/finished” shot, why didn’t you arrange the frittatas so you had your heroes up front and center? That one closest to the camera is definitely getting picked last for the dodgeball team.

  2. These were sooooo delicious!! Can’t remember if I properly thanked you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

