Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Sandwich

Let me apologize upfront: this was yesterday’s lunch, and it was a crazy morning. I had to take S to school, and haul C with me, and look presentable because I was going to watch a performance that S and her classmates were putting on. I was wondering if I even had time to pack S a lunch, but I really wanted to, because of all the food I have in my fridge. Plus, I wanted to make her a sandwich that was inspired by our trip to Portugal. Not to mention, school lunch can be so very bleak.

With all that said, I’m apologizing because lunch looks like a train wreck today. If you ever wondered what it would look like if smoked salmon got in a fist fight with cream cheese, you’re about to find out. I’m almost embarrassed to post it, but it is what it is. And it represents the truth for many of us, which is a harried mom frantically packing lunch and trying to get everyone to school on time.

I grabbed a whole wheat English muffin (I would’ve preferred a little a baguette, but didn’t have one), lightly toasted it and then spread some cream cheese on both sides. I piled some smoked salmon on one side and really, really wished I could put some thinly sliced cucumbers on top, but alas, I didn’t have any. I knew we had some baby spinach leaves, so I grabbed a small handful and put it on top of the salmon. This was risky, because S doesn’t like spinach. But I couldn’t let the sandwich go to school without some greens on it. I was betting that S would eat the spinach because she wouldn’t want to go to the trouble of picking it off. So was I right? Did S eat the spinach?

When I picked her up after school, she told me she was starving. Uh-oh. I asked her, “Did you eat your lunch?”

“Yep, everything but the Cuties,” she said. “I think I’ll eat those now.”

“Did you eat the spinach on the sandwich?” I asked.

“Why wouldn’t I?” she responded matter of factly. “I liked the sandwich. Can you make it for me again?”

That just goes to show you: we should never assume we know what our kids will or won’t eat. It’s always worth a try. After all, they just might surprise us.

One Comment to “Smoked Salmon and Cream Cheese Sandwich”

  1. Looks like the salmon barely won this fight. Or maybe it was a draw. In any case, I have to say, I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

