Turkey Day Leftovers – Grilled Cheese with Cranberry Relish

It’s not even Thanksgiving yet, and already I’m think about leftovers! I was so excited to try this that I simply couldn’t wait. The idea came to me when I was shopping for Thanksgiving and saw a goat cheese log wrapped in cranberries. Mmmmmm. Then, I thought: why not a grilled goat cheese cheddar sandwich with cranberry relish? The goat cheddar was what I had in the fridge, but I think it’d be just as delicious, if not more tasty, with Gruyere.

Yes, I admit, I buttered both sides of my mutligrain bread (not a true grilled cheese without butter, right?) and then grated the goat cheddar over both sides. I put both pieces in the skillet on medium and let them get nice and toasty, and golden brown. Then, I spread a layer of orange-cranberry relish over the melted cheese. I topped it with the other side and, voila, I was done! C loved, loved this sandwich. But this is the same kid who eats spoonfuls of cranberry sauce. He had to fight me for the last bite. Happy Thanksgiving!

2 Comments to “Turkey Day Leftovers – Grilled Cheese with Cranberry Relish”

  1. I am going to try this today. I may sneak in an avocado.

Leave a Reply

