Meatball and Pineapple Skewers

Remember those meatballs I made a few months back? Well, they’re still in my freezer and I decided it was time to repurpose them. Yes, I could make meatball sliders, spaghetti and meatballs, or simply meatballs and sauce. But I wanted a different flavor altogether. And when I opened the freezer, I also saw a bag of frozen pineapple tidbits. Ta da! Then, I saw the light.

Our microwave oven is still busted and I don’t foresee one in our near future, so instead of warming the meatballs in the microwave I set them in a steamer and let them get nice and juicy. Then, I skewered them on a toothpick along with a piece of pineapple. I wanted to heat up some teriyaki sauce and brush it over the meatball and pineapple, but I ran out of time. If you’re not up for making your own meatballs, you can always opt for the cooked ones in the freezer aisle of your grocery store. Usually, you can find them in beef or turkey. Also, pineapple chunks would skewer better, but I’m so neurotic about canned foods, especially acidic ones that can leach BPA into your food, that I always choose fresh, frozen or jarred, if it’s an option. Next time, I’ll cut up a fresh pineapple.

Part of me is waiting for S’s school to call and reprimand me for sending her to school with toothpicks. The horror! The truth is, it’s S, my daughter, and not C, my son, which means no one will get their eyes poked out today. Except for maybe the boy who grabs the toothpick out of S’s lunchbox.

If you want to try making your own meatballs, here’s the link to the post:

Homemade Meatballs!

 

Leave a Reply

